67 Monkeypox Cases Found In Nine EU Countries Over Last Week – ECDC

monkeypox cases

Monkeypox cases: As many as 67 cases of monkeypox have been identified across 9 member states of the European Union (EU).

This comprise countries like Sweden, Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands, Italy, Germany, France, Belgium, and Austria).

This is what ECDC stated in an official statement, “Human-to-human transmission occurs through close contact with infectious material from skin lesions of an infected person, through respiratory droplets in prolonged face-to-face contact, and through fomites,” the Center said.


67 Monkeypox Cases Found In Nine EU Countries Over Last Week – ECDC

“There is a potential risk of human-to-animal transmission in Europe, therefore close intersectoral collaboration between human and veterinary public health authorities working from a ‘One Health’ perspective is needed to manage exposed pets and prevent the disease from being transmitted in wildlife,” the Center added.

In order to keep a tab on the rising number of monkeypox cases, ECDC will continue to monitor developments in this regard. The center will also analyze its risk assessment whenever the new data and information will be available.


Also Read: Monkeypox Prevention: Infected People Urged to Stay Away from Pets to Protect Them from Monkeypox